Bette Midler – The Divine Miss M

Bette Midler - The Divine Miss M CB068 front

Released in 1972 Bette Midler’s debut album went platinum and earned her a grammy award for best new artist. It contains three top 40 hits. The Captain’s favorite track is the Bonnie Bramlett and Leon Russell penned tune ‘Superstar’. The Carpenters version being the one that most folks are familiar with. It should be noted that one of the Achilles’ heel of Q8’s is tape hiss. It is a bit more prevalent on this release than some others. Perhaps because there are several soft passages or just the nature of this particular tape. Enjoy CB

Allmusic

Release: CB068

Source: Q8

Format: DVD-A/V MLP/DTS/DD

This entry was posted in Q8 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bette Midler – The Divine Miss M

  1. birdycat19 says:

    What a great album to begin with but this mix is stupendous! Thanks so much…this one’s been on my list for years.

  2. bigheadrascal says:

    After a half year hiatus due to the demise of my surround machine, I’m getting back in the swing of things with some new gear and catching up as I get the chance. The Divine Miss M in quad is something I’d been hoping to see, so it got bumped to the head of the line. It sounds terrific considering it’s a Q8. So glad to have this. Thanks, CB!

    • Happy to hear you are getting back into the swing of things with some new gear. I’m pleased you enjoyed this release and more power to you catching up. There never seems to be enough time to sit back, put your feet up and just listen.

  3. lonky53 says:

    This was the first quad recording I ever heard.I was floored.I’ve been waiting for this to surface.Thanks.

    • Yes this one finally came up for air. Glad you found it enjoyable. If memory serves me correctly the 1st quad I heard was Edgar Winter – They Only Come Out at Night. I was floored as well and hooked.

Leave a Reply

