The Sound of Music – An Original Soundtrack Recording

the-sound-of-music-an-original-soundtrack-recording-cb081-front

Freebie

The popularity of this album is truly amazing. I would be surprised if there is anything that still exist of the original master tapes judging by the number of times this recording has been re-released. It was the biggest selling album in the UK during 1965, 1966, and 1968 and the second biggest selling of the entire decade. Only being knocked off from it’s top position by albums from The Beatles, The Monkees and The Hollies.  Enjoy CB

Allmusic

Release: CB081

Source: Q8

Format: DVD-A/V MLP/DTS/DD

This entry was posted in Q8 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Sound of Music – An Original Soundtrack Recording

  1. My parents brought home soundtracks from the 60s when I was growing up. They intermixed with The Beatles and Elvis and Donovan and The Doors. I never saw a difference. Would love a quad version of West Side Story, but I don’t think it exists.

    Anyways… I just listened for a minute and this sounds gorgeous. Looking forward to listening a little closer tomorrow.

  2. zaphod2359 says:

    Sorry for being stupid,but is there a new freebie link?

    >

    • Apparently the original Freebie Folder link had an issue with sharing. Think it is sorted out with a new working link emailed to current supporters. If any of you folks are still having problems accessing the freebie folder and or files please send an email. Also if I overlooked anyone please feel free to contact me. Please pardon any inconvenience this may have caused.

  3. zaphod2359 says:

    My Mom played this a LOT as I was growing up in the sixties,so it brings back good memories. You might say it’s…..one of my favorite things!
    Thanks!

    • Isn’t it wonderful how music can transport you to a certain time and place. Glad it was a pleasant memory. Yes the ol’ Captain flashbacked too. It was 1965 and all those weekly piano lessons. Recall the songbook for this movie very well with “My Favorite Things’ and ‘Do-Re-Mi’ assigned at recital time. Which was not one of my favorite things. Told the folks I wanted guitar lessons but they said no. Take piano or take nothing it’s your choice. Nevertheless still enjoy these songs after all these years.

    • Owen Smith says:

      When I was taught music (piano, recorders, tuba and theory), do-re-mi didn’t come into it at all. For years I had no idea what people were talking about when they referred to the “tonic sol-fa” and other stuff to do with it. I thought it was something the film makers made up, it was a couple of decades before I found out some people learnt it as part of their musical training. Maybe it’s a choral thing?

      • For some reason, looking back, I feel like I understood the do-re-me thing. I also was taught piano and I don’t think I learned it there. But it is, as they say, as old as the hills. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solf%C3%A8ge (not sure if I can post a http link… you can do a search on “origins of do re me”.

        As for the music, this album is gorgeous. The mix just fills the room with sound. And the quality of both the rip and the production is excellent. And there there’s Julie Andrews. What can I say?

        Thanks!

Leave a Reply

